Saturday, 20 January 2018

Why Melkorka? | Joshua Robertson

Originally posted by Joshua Robertson:

Melkorka was my first published novel in Thrice Nine Legends, and the first book in The Kaelandur Series. This already sounds super complicated. But think of the many series and chronicles in Dragonlance. My stories work in a very similar way!

Now, I am frequently asked why I titled the book with such a complex name, and then continued being complicated with subsequential books in the series? Well, I was honestly naive to book titles and their importance in marketing. By the time I learned Game of Thrones or The Way of Kings were worded a particular way to draw a reader's attention, I had already--unintentionally--Robert Frost'd myself.


Melkorka is the name of the ancient castle where we find Branimir, our unlikely hero. I picked this word because of its meaning, found in the thirteenth century Icelandic tale, Laxdaela saga. The Laxdaela saga makes mention of Melkorka, an Irish princess, who 

was taken as a slave and pretended to be mute. She hid her identity only to reveal later that there was more to her than what was on the surface. In many ways, Melkorka is a story that echoes the complexity in legend, suggesting to the reader that there is more than what appears on the surface.
Readers will find Melkorka was written to be both incisive and invigorating. I took a no-nonsense approach, due to the story being shared through Branimir's eyes. Branimir is NOT your typical hero; he is a slave, who barely understands himself or the world. But, after you finish Melkorka, and advance to the other books in The Kaelandur SeriesDyndaer and Maharia, you will notice the detail, dialogue, and heroics swell with Branimir's sense of self.

Thrice Nine Legends Saga

Anaerfell (45 CE) The Blood of Dragons, Book 1

Warden of the Ash Tree (46 CE)

The Highborn Longwalker (119 CE) - Coming April 2018

Melkorka (124 CE) The Kaelandur Series, Book 1

Strong Armed (1158 CE)

When Blood Falls (1347 CE) 

Death at Dusk (1348 CE) - Coming 2018

Dyndaer (1350 CE) , The Kaelandur Series, Book 2

The Name of Death (1351 CE)

Maharia (1352 CE), The Kaelandur Series, Book 3

Heshayol (1352 CE), The Blood of Dragons, Book 2 - Coming March 5, 2018

​​The Skincutter's Daughter (1370 CE) - Coming March 27, 2018

The Deathless Series - Coming Soon

Joshua Robertson is an award-winning author in epic, dark fantasy. You may recognize him as the dude whose dragons were said to destroy George R.R. Martin's and Christopher Paolini's dragons in a very biased Twitter poll. His first novel, Melkorka, was released in 2015, and he has been writing fantasy fiction like clockwork ever since. Known most for his Thrice Nine Legends Saga, Robertson enjoys an ever-expanding and extremely loyal following of readers. He currently lives in North Carolina with his better half and his horde of goblins. Learn more at or connect with him on Twitter or Instagram @RobertsonWrites.

No comments:

Post a Comment